How to Live a Vitality-Centered Life

5 ways to access your most ancient superpower

Paul Haluszczak
11 min readSep 5, 2022
An art installation with black wiring connected in a web-like shape on a white backdrop.
Photo by Alina Grubnyak on Unsplash

I’m a runaway.

Not in the colloquial “I hate my parents, I hate my life,” angsty teenager kind of way.

Rather, in the “I don’t want to deal with my adult emotions, so let me transfer colleges six weeks into my first semester, move apartments (nine times in nine years) and cities (three times in six years), change jobs (five times in seven years) and careers (twice in seven years), live in a converted camper van” kind of way.

Every life-changing decision I’ve made (minus getting married) has been driven by this need to run away rather than toward. It’s exhausting. It’s mentally debilitating. It’s isolating. And it works, if you’re lucky.

I’m lucky.

During one runaway attempt where I abandoned my data analytics career 11 months into it, I found myself at a cocktail hour hosted by my new employer — ready to mingle with educators from across the country who were up to really inventive and radical things.

The very first conversation I had that evening was with the three co-founders of a school in Floyd, VA.

I felt like I was talking to people from a different time, a different place, perhaps a different dimension altogether. And I…

--

--

Paul Haluszczak

Driven to guide others in becoming experts on themselves. Knowledge of self will always be evergreen.